Opened 12 years ago

Last modified 11 years ago

#966 new Enhancement

Update check should occur before auto-connecting to servers and auto-joining rooms

Reported by: rexbinary Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.1 (Mac)
Severity: Minor Keywords: update
Cc:

Description

Request:
When Colloquy is configured to automatically check for updates at start up, this update check and the update itself should occur before the client automatically connects to any servers or joins any rooms.

Here's why:
Start Colloquy, it connects to all servers and joins all my rooms, then an update is found, I disconnect from all servers and rooms, the update occurs, then I rejoin all server and rooms when the new version of Colloquy launches. The issue is I have Colloquy configured to join many servers and rooms at start up. If there is an update available, I end up creating unecessary join/part messages on every server and in every room I join.

It should work as follows:
Start Colloquy, update check, new update is installed, application is relaunched, update check, no update, connect to all configured servers and rooms.

Basically auto-joining servers and rooms should never occur until after an update check has occurred and no update is available.

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by timothy

This has been talked about before, but was never considered because it would slow down launch times dramatically. Considering you are likely to launch Colloquy when there isn't an update, it is better to launch faster than to wait for the update check. If the update site is down, or the network is slow it could take up to 10 seconds before anything would happen.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by rexbinary

Makes sense. Guess I could disable the update check anyway.

comment:3 Changed 11 years ago by jane

for future reference, a nice workaround of this issue in latest sparkle: http://twitter.com/andy_matuschak/statuses/838393927

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.