Opened 13 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#715 new Enhancement

add a pref to warn before closing a connected chat window with cmd-w

Reported by: akempgen Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: Local Build
Severity: Minor Keywords: preference cmd w warning
Cc: korpios@…, gurpartap@…

Description

add a pref to warn before closing a connected chat window with cmd-w, just like we already do with cmd-q. maybe as a "Do not ask again option" right in the warning dlog? related to #605 #261 and #498

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by rinoa

I agree with this one.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by korpios

+1

Having my entire chat vanish into the ether because I accidentally hit cmd-w (which happens at least once a day) is pretty much the one issue that keeps Colloquy from being perfect for me. It's so annoying that I've tried going back to using irssi because of it. :(

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by korpios

Actually, the problem isn't so much that Cmd-W closes the window without warning, as that Cmd-W *also* unjoins you from the channel. It would be fine to close the window without a warning so long as you remained joined to the channel, and had the relevant log/history available once you re-opened the window.

comment:4 Changed 12 years ago by korpios

  • Cc korpios@… added

comment:5 Changed 12 years ago by Creops

I and alot of my friend agrees to this one.
Its very annoying.

comment:6 Changed 10 years ago by Gurpartap Singh

a) Add a checkbox in JVBehaviorPreferences.nib: "Confirm before leaving a chat room"
b) Bind it to user defaults with model key path: JVConfirmBeforeLeavingAChatRoom
c) Apply the patch.

By default user is presented a /part confirmation, which can be disabled in preferences.

comment:7 Changed 10 years ago by Gurpartap Singh

  • Cc gurpartap@… added
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.