Opened 13 years ago

Closed 13 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#376 closed Defect (Works for Me)

Real name reappears even after deletion

Reported by: sdwatson1@… Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.0 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords: privacy real name
Cc:

Description

to test what shows, I ran a /whois on myself...it displays infomation taken, I think, from the Powerbook system settings..including my real name..which I really do not want showing. I tried to change preferences but cannot locate a way to protect/filter what I choose to have display on a /whois run on me.

How do I edit those settings in Colloquy to ensure privacy of that information?

Change History (16)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa <emily@…>

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Severity changed from blocker to normal
  • Status changed from new to closed

Go to Connections (command+1), and get info on each server you are on. Change your Real Name there, under the General tab.

comment:2 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

  • Resolution invalid deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

comment:3 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

this isn't working..the real name continues to appear

comment:4 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa <emily@…>

What language?

comment:5 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

Same problems here...under the general tab, my real name shows no matter how often I change it.

comment:6 Changed 13 years ago by Michael

  • Keywords privacy real name added
  • Summary changed from privacy/real name to Real name reappears even after deletion
  • Type changed from task to defect

After deleting my real name in a connection in the Info window of Connections, it reappears. It reappears even when I manually delete it from Preferences/cc.javelin.colloquy.plist.

comment:7 Changed 13 years ago by Michael

Sorry, I should have been more specific - this happens in English. Also, it is possible to CHANGE the real name to something else, but not to DELETE it (and have it appear blank).

comment:8 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa <emily@…>

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

It's impossible to leave Real name blank. You have to have something there. Most people who don't like having their real name displayed use their nickname instead.

Also, after you change your real name, press enter after typing it in to 'save'. Then relaunch the program to make sure the change has been saved.

comment:9 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

  • Component changed from Colloquy (GUI) to Chat Core (IRC)
  • Keywords Aouatef added; privacy real name removed
  • priority changed from normal to highest
  • Resolution worksforme deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Summary changed from Real name reappears even after deletion to Am|lcar
  • Type changed from defect to enhancement

comment:10 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa <emily@…>

  • Component changed from Chat Core (IRC) to Colloquy (GUI)
  • Keywords privacy real name added; Aouatef removed
  • priority changed from highest to normal
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from reopened to closed
  • Summary changed from Am|lcar to Real name reappears even after deletion
  • Type changed from enhancement to defect

comment:11 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

  • Resolution worksforme deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

i'm having the same problem.... changed, saved it, comes up as my new choices - whois me and it picks up my powerbook settings.... english : using OS X 10.3.9

comment:12 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa <emily@…>

You need to relaunch the program after the change, see if it sticks after that. Also, it cannot be blank. There has to be something there.

We also changed the cc.javelin.colloquy.plist to info.colloquy.plist, so try deleting the cc.javelin.colloquy.plist one and see if that helps also.

I'll leave this open, be sure to tell me if the above fixes it.

comment:13 Changed 13 years ago by rinoa

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

No more comments on this. I'll assume the above worked. Reopen if disconnecting, changing the real name, and reconnecting doesn't fix this.

comment:14 Changed 6 years ago by anonymous

i cannot believe "real name" set to computer name is the default setting. very privacy insensitive, should be part of the setup.

comment:15 Changed 5 years ago by anonymous

Yeah good one .. I have tried to change it too ... Guess you can't, all the above steps did nothing.

comment:16 Changed 5 years ago by anonymous

OK I fixed it .. go into connections .. manually change all the data, then delete original connection completely then reconnect with the nick you just worked on. File > New Connection > Details .. etc

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.