Opened 13 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

#375 closed Defect (Won't Fix)

Colloquy should not delete crash logs on submit.

Reported by: colloquy@… Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.0 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Colloquy should not delete crash logs on submit.

Instead it should keep it's own "this is where I am in the file" preference, and use that to avoid re-submitting the same log information. Deleting the log is a problem for those of us who actually use them...

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

Another simple solution woudl be a *move* the file (concating on to any previously moved file) instead of deleting.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by rinoa

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

We delete the file when you submit it to us so we do not get it twice. People tend to give us the crash log on trac, and that doesn't help us at all. We'd rather have it submitted to our crash system so we can track crashes and bugs separately.

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by Eric Seidel <colloquy@…>

Your second comment seems somewhat non-sequitor. Yes, I've filed tickets including crash logs. That was a good thing at apple. However you've since clarified that it's a bad thing at Colloquy.

Back to the issue at hand: deleting crash logs from a user's box, can (yes, it's a little of a stretch) be equated to deleting arbitrary data from their machine, which I think we'd all agree is a bad thing.

Personally I like being able to look at my crash logs. Colloquy's current behavior makes that impossible. It seems like this would be a pretty simple fix to just keep an index offset into the file.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.