Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#1750 closed Defect (Duplicate)

Clicking a Channel Link Causes reconnection

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.3 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords: click channel bug
Cc:

Description

When a channel link of any kind is clicked, or double clicked, in colloquy a new server connection is opened up and all "auto-join" channels are joined again with a new nick. Example:

If I am Guest123 and I click a channel link my Guest123 account will remain connected. However, I will see a new instance of all of my auto-joined channels, as well as a new freenode connection. In those windows I will be connected as "Guest123_1" or whatever the alternative nick for me is.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by zach

Can you give an example of a "channel link" that will open up a new server connection?

Colloquy already attempts to reuse networks when a link like irc://irc.network.com/channel is joined, but it can only do so if irc.network.com matches a currently open channel.

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by zach

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Also, this sounds like a dupe of #1677, so can you please post additional comments on that ticket? Thanks!

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.