Opened 11 years ago

Closed 11 years ago

Last modified 11 years ago

#1517 closed Enhancement (Won't Fix)

"Clear Display" is a destructive command that is both irreversible and unconfirmed

Reported by: brent@… Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.2 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

The "Clear Display" option destroys data. It cannot be undone, and there is no confirmation dialog. Thus, if triggered accidentally, there is no recourse.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Let two hours of scrollback build up that you want to read.
  2. Accidentally hold the right mouse button down for a couple seconds.
  3. Release the button over the top item on the list, "Clear Display".

Actual results:
Your scrollback disappears without any warning. Undo does not fix this.

Expected results:
I would expect that either an "are you sure?" dialog would pop up, or undo would work. See the HIG's section on "Forgiveness" to understand what I mean.

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by jane

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Ironically we have #467 for a potential security risk that undoes clear display that, to my knowledge, is still a security "risk".

That being said, this is a wontfix. The Apple HIG also has a section on consistency, and having /clear, "Clear Display" and cmd+k all work to clear the display without a confirmation is consistent with almost every single IRC client I can think of on any platform including Mac OS X and is not the only Mac application to use such an option irreversibly (i.e. see netnewswire).

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by timothy

Xcode and Terminal also don't confirm to clear the Console/screen.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.