Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#1462 new Enhancement

Make Colloquy save open channels when quit and auto-join them on restart

Reported by: spamfaenger@… Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.2 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

This is one of the things I don't quite understand. I can set up auto-join servers, and for each server I can also set up auto join channels.

However when I don't do that, Colloquy defaults to forgetting all the channels that where open when I quit it.

This should be changed because of several reasons

  • I want it. :)
  • Good user interface should default to not loosing data but restoring everything that it can
  • It would enable the devs to get rid of the "are you sure you want to quit" warning, because you no longer loose the state of the application (well besides not being able to record logs anymore of course)
  • The Apple HIG wants it too: Save and restore as much state as you can and don't loose data are inherent concepts.

Last but not least: Saving state would be ultra convenient and has the potential to drastically simplify some of the prefs (where there is now configuration to auto join services and channels - that could all go - however I suspect that at first it will stay as optional settings to keep those people happy that use it)

Greetings, and I hope you consider this offering of my whishes.

Keep up the great work!

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by hyakuhei@…

+1

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.