Opened 13 years ago

Closed 13 years ago

#108 closed Defect (Fixed)

Auto-join channels not saved when quitting application while server info window is open

Reported by: brion@… Owned by: timothy
Component: Colloquy (Mac) Version: 2.0 (Mac)
Severity: Normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Open 'Connections' window
  2. Select a server and click 'Info'
  3. Select 'Automatic' tab
  4. Click the + button under 'Join Rooms' and add a channel or two (eg, #colloquy)
  5. Command+Q to quit
  6. Open up Colloquy again...

Expected results:
When connecting to the server on next application run, the added rooms should be auto-joined. Looking at the list in the 'info' window, they should still be visible.

Actual results:
Nothing. The added rooms do not appear in the list in the info window, and are not auto-joined. My changes have vanished into the ether.

I've found that if I close the info window individually, and _then_ quit, it seems to save the changes and the channels are auto-joined in the future.

Suggested fix:
Since the dialog follows the paradigm of not requiring an explicit 'OK' or 'save' step, it's not obvious from a user perspective what is required to make changes take. Either the changes should be saved and take effect immediately, or they should take effect when the application is quit as well as when the window is individually closed.

(Testing 3/26 nightly on Mac OS X 10.3.8.)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by brion@…

From a quick poke at the source, it looks like the actual saving of the rooms list is done in JVMConnectionInspector's didUnload method. If I comment out the contents of the method, I can reproduce the non-saving behavior also when closing the window.

The method is called on window close, but not on application quit. It's called from JVInspectorController's dealloc method, which also isn't getting called on quit.

comment:2 Changed 13 years ago by Rinoa

  • Version changed from 2.0 (2D9) to 2.0 (2D16)

comment:3 Changed 13 years ago by anonymous

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Fixed in [2984].

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.